Tripura Left Front sweeps civic polls 2015

Tripura Left Front sweeps civic polls 2015

AGARTALA: The ruling Left Front sweep the Tripura Civic elections 2015 by securing 94 percent seats in total. This is the fourth consecutive time that the Left Front has retained the civic polls.

The election was held in 20 civic bodies including one Corporation, 13 municipal councils and 6 Nagar panchayats.

Of the total 310 seats in the elections, 291 was won by the Left candidates with Congress securing 13 seats, 4 seats by Bharatiya Janata Party and the remaining two seats was secured by other parties.

In 49-seated Agartala Municipal Corporation, the Left swept 45 seats and the rest four are bagged by the Congress.

Congress bagged 9 seats and BJP got four seats while the nagar panchayat came under the grip of the Left party in municipal councils. However, the BJP got second positions in five municipal councils and two seats of one of the Nagar Panchayat.

Earlier, the ruling Left Front has won 11 wards of Jirania Nagar Panchayat in West Tripura District, six wards of total 11 in Amarpur Nagar Panchayat in Gomati District and 2 of total 15 wards of Khowai Municipal Council in Khowai uncontested.

A total of 886 contestants of all political parties and independents including 429 women have contended in this year's civic elections and there were 5, 37,968 voters in total.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today