Parliament monsoon session 2020: Eight MPs suspended for ‘misconduct’ in Rajya Sabha

Parliament monsoon session 2020: Eight MPs suspended for ‘misconduct’ in Rajya Sabha

NEW DELHI | Sept 21, 2020:

Eight Rajya Sabha members have been suspended from the Upper House for one week for their unruly behaviour during the passage of two Farm Bills.

They are Congress members Rajiv Satav, Ripun Bora and Nazeer Hussain, TMC members Derek O'Brien and Dola Sen, CPI(M) MPs K.K. Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem and Aam Aadmi Party MP Sanjay Singh.

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, V. Muraleedharan moved a motion to suspend these members for creating ruckus and disrespecting the Chair by their unruly behaviour.

The motion was accepted with a voice vote and Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu announced the names of the suspended members.

Naidu also condemned the incident terming it unacceptable and condemnable. He also said that the incident has tarnished the image of the Upper House and that it was a bad day.

Naidu also said some members used unparliamentary language and threatened Deputy Chairman Harivansh.

Naidu added that the agitating members also defied social distancing and other COVID norms. The Chairman rejected the no-confidence motion moved by the 46 opposition members against the Deputy Chairman citing that the notice was not in the proper format.

When the Chairman asked the suspended MPs to leave the House they were adamant and members from Congress, TMC, Left and others came into the well and raised slogans. As the noisy scene continued, the Chairman adjourned the House till 10 AM.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today