Mizoram: Lalliansawta elected as new president of Zoram People’s Movement

Mizoram: Lalliansawta elected as new president of Zoram People’s Movement

AIZAWL | SEPT 30, 2020:

Lalliansawta was elected the new president of the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), the major opposition party in Mizoram, a party leader said.

They declared Lalliansawta the head of the party for three years at a function held in Aizawl.

"The process to elect the party's office-bearers could not be held because of COVID-19, and they gave the task to the Val Upa Council, the top decision-making body of the party," the party leader said.

"K Sapdanga, Kennet Chawngliana, Lalthansanga and K Thanzaua were appointed vice presidents, and C. Laltanpuia was made treasurer," he said.

Meanwhile, Lalliansawta said that the party's leadership would make massive efforts to ensure that it wins the next assembly polls in Mizoram in 2023.

He stated that his party was firm on bringing in a new system to establish a "responsible and people's government."

The ZPM had contested 39 seats in the last assembly polls back in November 2018. It won eight seats with its chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma winning two – Serchhip and Aizawl West-I.

However, Lalduhoma vacated Aizawl West-I to retain the Serchhip seat.

The party currently has seven MLAs in the 40-member assembly.

Recently, the assembly served a show-cause notice to Lalduhoma, following complaints by 12 ruling Mizo National Front legislators seeking his disqualification.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today