Sikkim By-polls Updates: 68.21% polling till 5 pm
By Poll

Sikkim By-polls Updates: 68.21% polling till 5 pm

Gangtok | OCT 21, 2019:

Voting is underway in three constituencies in Sikkim. The polling started at around 7 AM in all the polling stations including Gangtok and Martam-Rumtek constituencies in East Sikkim district and Poklok-Kamrang in South Sikkim district.

Chief Minister of Sikkim Prem Singh Tamang, also the President of the ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), would be part of a triangular contest with Sikkim Democratic Front's (SDF) Moses Rai and Sikkim Republican Party's (SRP) Yadhu Kumar Rai in the Poklong-Kamrang constituency in South Sikkim district.

In East Sikkim district, six candidates each are contesting for the Bhutia/Lepcha-reserved Assembly constituencies of Martam-Rumtek and Gangtok. Candidates contesting for Martam-Rumtek are Nuk Tshering Bhutia of SDF, Sonam Tshering Venchungpa of BJP, Mingma Tshering Sherpa of SRP, Nima Lepcha of Hamro Sikkim Party, and independent candidates Michung Bhutia and Passang Gyali Sherpa.

Till 5 Pm, voters' turnout was recorded at 68.21 %

Till 3 PM the total votes cast 60.43%

ALSO READ: Voting begins for 4 Assembly seats in Assam

Rinzing Ongmu Bhutia of SDF, Yong Tshering Lepcha of BJP, sports icon Bhaichung Bhutia of Hamro Sikkim Party, Diley Namgyal Barfungpa of Sikkim National Peoples' Party, Song Tshering Lepcha of SRP and independent candidate Karma Yenten Chenkapa are contesting for East Sikkim's Gangtok assembly constituency.

The ruling SKM is not contesting from Martam-Rumtek and Gangtok and is supporting the BJP candidates. BJP is not contesting from Poklong-Kamrang and is supported by SKM. In the 32-member Sikkim legislative assembly, the ruling SKM has 18 MLAs, BJP has 10 legislators and SDF has one MLA and three seats are vacant.

Total turnout of voters till 1 PM: 47.17%

Till 11 AM the total votes cast 26.51%

The Governor of Sikkim, Ganga Prasad also cast his vote for Bye-Election for the Gangtok Assembly seat at White Hall polling station here today. Governor was accompanied by Raj Bhawan officials.

After casting his vote, the Governor appealed to the voters of the 3 assembly constituencies district to come forward and cast their valuable votes to those candidates who will to work for the society.

Sikkim Governor Ganga Prasad casts his vote for Gangtok Assembly constituency

Here are the updates till 9 AM:

Related Stories

The Northeast Today