Nagaland | 18 NPF MLAs want ‘stable regional coalition’ govt

Nagaland | 18 NPF MLAs want ‘stable regional coalition’ govt

KOHIMA, March 8, 2019: Eighteen of the 26 opposition Naga People's Front (NPF) legislators in Nagaland have proposed to their legislature party leader T.R. Zeliang to work out modalities with the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) for a "stable regional coalition", a NPF legislator said on Thursday.

However, the NDPP, which is leading the People's Democratic Alliance (PDA) government, has termed the proposal of the NPF legislators as "absurd and incomprehensible" since the NDPP-BJP alliance was and is a pre-poll alliance.

The political development in the state is significant in the wake of the NPF denying any rift within its legislature party.

In a joint letter to Zeliang, the 18 NPF legislators proposed for a "stable regional coalition" under the political scenario prevailing in the state as well in the country at large.

"We are fully convinced that a stable regional coalition is the need of the hour so as to deliver goods to the people and also to face any eventualities in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections," the NPF legislators noted.

The legislators also urged Zeliang, who is also the Leader of Opposition in the Nagaland Assembly, to initiate necessary steps so as to realise their objectives by finalising the necessary modalities with the NDPP leadership before the upcoming parliamentary elections.

Although Zeliang could not be contacted for his comments, one of the legislators who signed the letter confirmed that they are in favour of a "stable regional coalition" government in Nagaland.

The 18 legislators who signed the handwritten letter include Imkong L. Imchen, Azheto Zhimomi, Moatoshi Longkumer, Kejong Chang, Amenba Yaden, Y.M. Yollow Konyak, M. Sangtam, Eshak Konyak, Dr. Imtiwapang Aier, Pitco Shohe, C.L. John, Chotisuh Sazo, Y. Vikheho Swu, Yitachu, Kezhienyi Khalo, Keneizhakho Nakhro, Khriehu Liezietsu and Chumben Murry.

In the 60-member Nagaland Assembly, the ruling NDPP which leads the PDA coalition government has 17 members and is supported by 12 BJP members, two National People's Party, one lone Janata Dal (United) member and one Independent.

The opposition NPF has 26 members.


Related Stories

The Northeast Today