LIVE UPDATES: Lok Sabha polls 2019 in Nagaland

LIVE UPDATES: Lok Sabha polls 2019 in Nagaland

April 11, 2019

The polling for the 1ST phase Lok Sabha Elections 2019 began today at 7 am and is underway in Nagaland. The phase 1 polling session is underway in the eight states of Northeast India along with other states. The voting process commenced at 7 am in the morning and will end at 5 pm in the evening on Thursday.

K L Chishi from Congress, NPP's Hayithung Tungoe, sitting MP NDPP's Tokheho Yepthomi, and M M Thromwa Konyak (Independent) are on the list of candidates for the polls. Consisting of a unicameral legislature, the state may see over 11 lakh voters for the Lok Sabha elections.

The by-election to the 26-Aonglenden assembly constituency will be held along with the Lok Sabha polls on Thursday. It will be a combat between Sharingain Longkumer of NDPP and Alem Jongshi of Congress. Two candidates — Toshipokba Longkumer of NPF and O Tinu Longkumer of NPP – withdrew their nomination, thus facilitating a straight contest between the PDA and Congress candidates.



21% voter turnout recorded till 9 am in Nagaland parliamentary constituency.


Naga People's Front (NPF) president Shurhozelie Liezietsu exercises his franchise.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today