ECI announces poll dates to Rajya Sabha

ECI announces poll dates to Rajya Sabha

NATIONAL | FEB 25, 2020:

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced on Monday the dates for the election to the Rajya Sabha for the states whose tenure is ending soon.

The state of Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya and Rajasthan will elect MPs to 55 seats in the Upper House of Parliament on March 26.

Out of these 17 states, seven seats are from Maharashtra, four from Odisha, six from Tamil Nadu, five from West Bengal, four from Andhra Pradesh, two from Telangana, three from Assam, five from Bihar, two from Chattisgarh, four from Gujarat, two from Haryana, one from Himachal Pradesh, two from Jharkhand, three from Madhya Pradesh, one from Manipur, three from Rajasthan, and one from Meghalaya.


According to the notification issued by the ECI, the election notification for Rajya Sabha will be released on March 6 and the filing of nominations will begin on March 16. The last date for filing nomination papers is March 18. While the voting will be held from 9 am to 4 pm on March 26, the counting of votes will happen on the same day at 5 pm.

The elections are due since the tenure of the six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu are ending on April 2. Along with Tamil Nadu, 16 other states will also elect new Rajya Sabha members on March 26. A total of 55 Rajya Sabha seats from 17 states will fall vacant in April 2020.


Related Stories

The Northeast Today