Chief Minister & two BJP MLAs takes oath

GANGTOK | November 4, 2019:

Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang and two BJP MLAs, Sonam Tshering Venchungpa, and Y.T. Lepcha sworn in as Members of Sikkim Legislative Assembly today.

Speaker, Sikkim Legislative Assembly, L.B. Das administered the oath or affirmation to the three  Members of Legislative Assembly who were recently elected in Bye Election from 10- Poklok Kamrang, 24- Martam Rumtek and 27- Gangtok Assembly Constituencies respectively. 

The First Session (Part-III) of the Tenth Assembly of Sikkim Legislative Assembly was specially convened by the Speaker to administer the oath or affirmation to the three Members. 

ALSO READ:President Kovind all in praise of Sikkim's organic farming and cleanliness

After the oath or affirmation, all Members of the House offered khadas and congratulated the three Members of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly.

Meanwhile, Speaker LB Das has stated that all the twelve MLAs who switched party from Sikkim Democratic Front(SDF) to BJP & SDF to SKM has not submitted the complete documents in the Assembly. This technically means that the legislation assembly's seating arrangement remains unchanged.

DT Lepcha, one of the MLA who had defected from SDF to BJP responded to media queries that all the relevant documents will be submitted by next session.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today