Nagaland: Former CM Zeliang stake claims to form new government

Nagaland: Former CM Zeliang stake claims to form new government

Former Nagaland Chief Minister T R Zeliang, Chairman of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) has staked claim to form a new NPF led DAN Government in Nagaland.

In a statement addressed to the Nagaland Governor by TR Zeliang, which was also received by the media late yesterday evening claimed that he has the support of 34 NPF MLAs out of the 47 (including him) and 7 Independent MLAs taking the tally of his supporters to a total of 49 MLAs. Mr Zeliang said 34 NPF MLAs, (including himself) had supported him to be the Leader of the Legislature Party of the NPF during a meeting at his residence in Dimapur on July 4, 2017.

The meeting further authorized him to stake claim before the Governor to form a new NPF led DAN Government. This above claim had proved that the Council of Ministers of the incumbent Chief Minister Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu has been reduced to a minority. In this regard, T.R. Zeliang has requested the Governor to invite him to form the new Government at the earliest, Zeliang in his statement said. Meanwhile, Zeliang, who is also the advisor (Finance), has tendered his resignation to said post in an official missive addressed to the chief minister.

The Nagaland Chief Secretary issued a notification terminating the appointment of Zeliang to said post. Informed sources said that the group of 34 NPF legislators have resolved to empower TR Zeliang, who they claim is the leader of the NPF legislature party, to stake claim to form a new DAN Government in Nagaland. This was resolved at what was described as "meeting of the NPF legislature party" held on July 4, 2017 at the residential office of TR Zeliang in Dimapur.

After due deliberation, the meeting passed resolutions, including amendment of resolution dated February 20, 2017. At the meeting, the members also resolved that, in order to strengthen cohesion amongst the majority of the NPF MLAs, TR Zeliang, leader of NPF legislature party, be appointed as the person authorised to issue directions to the NPF MLAs (whip) for all activities on the floor of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, under paragraph 2(1)(b) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution of India.

In token of having unanimously passed the resolutions, the following members of NPF legislature party (NPF MLAs) affixed their signatures: Y Pattton, G Kaito Aye, Dr. N Kire, Deo Nukhu, Tokheho Yepthomi, EE Pangteang, C Kipili Sangtam, S Hukavi Zhimomi, CM Chang, Namri Nchang, Dr. Benjongliba Aier, Dr. Longrineken, Kropol Vitsu, Zhaleo Rio, Shetoyi Sema, E Eshak Konyak, L Khumo Khiam, Nuklutoshi, Pukhayi Sumi, Kejong Chang, Naiba Konyak, S Pangnyu Phom, C Apok Jamir, Imkong Imchen, Imtikumzuk, Dr. Neiphrezo Keditsu, BS Nganlang, Khekaho Assumi and Pohwang, sources said

Source: Agencies

Related Stories

The Northeast Today