Tripura: 140 Cong workers leave for New Delhi

Tripura: 140 Cong workers leave for New Delhi

AGARTALA: Nearly 140 Congress workers left for New Delhi on June 12 to take part in the stir demanding CBI probe into the chit fund companies scam issues in the regime of Tripura's Marxist government.

Tripura Pradesh Congress Committtee (TPCC) working president Asish Saha and MLA Diba Chandra Hrankhawl are slated to leave the state tomorrow whereas, president Birajit Sinha, former Chief Minister Samir Ranjan Barman, MLAs Pranajit Singha Roy, Biswabandhu Sen and Congress leader Dipak Majumder and leaders of frontal organizations would leave day after tomorrow. CLP Sudip Roy Barman, who is currently in Bangalore, would likely to reach New Delhi by tonight.

A highly placed source in the Congress Bhawan said that All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary and in-charge of the state
– V Narayanaswami and secretary Bhupen Borah are expected to join the stir.

The Congress leaders would meet All India Congress Committee (AICC) supremo Sonia Gandhi on June 15 and they would meet Pranab Mukherjee the following day after which they would hold agitation at Jantar Mantar in New Delhi on June 17. Apart from that, the Congress would demand immediate arrest of a section of Tripura ministers who had alleged links with the chit fund companies along with proprietors of these companies.

The party would also demand the President to make necessary initiatives to return the deposited money of the chit fund victims at the earliest.

(TNT News)

Related Stories

The Northeast Today