Three NLFT militants of 1997 Jarulbachai massacre convicted

Three NLFT militants of 1997 Jarulbachai massacre convicted

AGARTALA: Three militants of banned National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) involved in 1997 Jarulbachai massacre in Agartala where 16 people including women and children were brutally killed was convicted by a local court on Tuesday.

The court will decide their fate on December 4.

The three convicts are identified as Mangal Debbarma, Falgun Debbarma and Binoy Debbarma.

In the first phase, the CID had submitted charge sheet against 16 prime accused of the massacre of which 11 were absconding. Later, five were arrested. They were Achak Debbarma, Gandhi Debbarma, Buddhi Debbarma, Mantu Debbarma and Shabhuram Debbarma.

A lower court had released three except Achak and Gandhi due to lack of evidence. The court sentenced Achak to death. Achak moved the Agartala Bench of the Gauhati High Court which upheld his death sentence. Currently, the case has moved to the Supreme Court.

(TNT News)

Related Stories

The Northeast Today