Sikkim | Rajeswari Chakraborty takes away the title tag of Miss Sikkim 2018

Sikkim | Rajeswari Chakraborty takes away the title tag of Miss Sikkim 2018

GANGTOK | September 24, 2018:

Rajeswari Chakraborty on Saturday won the title tag of Miss Sikkim during the grand finale of state beauty pageant which was held at Manan Kendra.

While Radha Khatri from Rumtek and Bharati Sharma from Gangtok won the first and second runners-up respectively.

For More Sikkim News Click Here

Rajeswari also walked away with the Miss Best Personality sub-title at the pageant which had six rounds with the progressive exit of the 16 contestants. At the final round which had a common question and answer round, only five contestants were left.

Among the five, Rajeswari was announced as the new Miss Sikkim based on the marks given from the five-member judge panel. Sang Doma Tamang and Diksha Pandey were the other two top five finalists.

"When my name was announced (as Miss Sikkim), I was so overwhelmed and I was looking for my mom…I wanted to hug her," said Rajeswari.

"I am so glad that I made it…I would love to try other beauty pageants and represent Sikkim," said Rajeswari.

The first three winners were crowned by Miss Sikkim 2017 Peden Ongmu Namgyal, Miss Sikkim 2017 first runner-up Sushmita Gurung and Femina Miss India Sikkim 2017 Parmila Chettri.

First runners-up Radha Khatri won the sub-title of Miss Congeniality while second runners-up Bharati Sharma bagged two sub-titles of Miss Popular and Miss Beauty with Brain.

The other sub-title winners were Sang Doma Tamang (Miss Photogenic), Pallavi Basnett (Miss Best Ramp Walk), Passang Lhamu Bhutia (Miss Talented & Miss Beauty With a Purpose), Rabina Pradhan (Miss Radiant Skin) and Khusboo Tamang (Miss Timeless Beauty).

Forest minister T.W. Lepcha was the chief guest for the event with Chujachen MLA Bikram Pradhan as the guest of honour.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today