Sikkim and Mizoram Assemblies ratify GST bill

Sikkim and Mizoram Assemblies ratify GST bill

GANGTOK/ AIZAWL: Sikkim today ratified the Constitution Amendment Bill on Goods and Services Tax (GST), becoming the 12th state to have passed the landmark tax reform.

Eleven states — Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Nagaland, have already ratified the Bill.

In a special sitting of the Sikkim Assembly, the resolution on ratification of the GST bill was moved by R B Subba, state Minister for Law, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs and passed by the House.

Mizoram Assembly also today ratified the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Constitutional Amendment bill by adopting an official resolution, becoming 13th state to have approved the legislation.

The state legislature unanimously adopted the official resolution moved by Finance and Taxation Minister Lalsawta after deliberations on the first day of the Assembly.

Participants of the discussion, irrespective of party affiliations, expressed hope that the GST Act would not only streamline the tax regime in the country, but also benefit states like Mizoram.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today