Pema Khandu takes oath as Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

Pema Khandu takes oath as Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

ITANAGAR | May 29, 2019 (UNI):

Pema Khandu was today sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh. Khandu was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Brig (retd) BD Mishra at an impressive ceremony at Dorjee
Khandu State Convention Centre here this noon.

Eleven others, including Chowna Mein, were also sworn in along with Khandu.

Mein took oath as the deputy chief minister while ten others- Honchun Ngandam, Wangki Lowang, Alo Libang, Kamlung Mossang, Bamang Felix, Tumke Bagra, Mama Natung, Nakap Nalo, Tage Taki and Taba Tedir were sworn in as Ministers.

Pema, now 40, a graduate in History from Delhi's prestigious Hindu College became first a minister in Congress cabinet in 2011 soon after his father and chief minister Dorjee Khandu had died in a helicopter crash.

Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb, Nagaland chief minister Neiphieu Rio, Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K Sangma, Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren Singh, Kiren Rijiju, BJP general secretary Ram Madhab, Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, among others attended the ceremony.

Related Stories

The Northeast Today