Mary Kom nominated for Rajya Sabha seat

Mary Kom nominated for Rajya Sabha seat

NEW DELHI: With a clear aim to ensure representation from Northeast, the PMOs office nominated Internationally acclaimed boxer from Manipur, MC Mary Kom for the Rajya Sabha.

There are 12 nominated members in Rajya Sabha and there are seven vacancies at the moment.

According to media reports, a list of six people was on Thursday was approved by the union cabinet and Prime Minister's Office and sent to President Pranab Mukherjee for his nod.

The list of nominees also includes BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, senior journalist Swapan Dasgupta, economist Narendra Jadhav, and Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi. The list also includes former-cricketer-turned politician Navjot Singh Sidhu.

(With agency inputs)

Related Stories

The Northeast Today