Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Bala​ ​Ngangom get top AIFF Awards

Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Bala​ ​Ngangom get top AIFF Awards

Midfielder Eugeneson Lyngdoh from Meghalaya ended Sunil Chettri's two-year hold on the AIFF men's Player of the Year trophy, while in-form striker Bala​ ​Ngangom from Manipur was chosen for the women's honour for a second successive time in the AIFF Annual General Body Meeting held on Sunday.

Lyngdoh was chosen the winner on basis of votes from Coaches of I-League Clubs and he will be presented a prize of Rs two lakh besides a Trophy. An elated Lyngdoh said he was "honoured" on being chosen for the award. "The fact that I was voted by the I-League Coaches makes it all the more special for me. This is just a motivation to do better," he stated.

Furthermore, Bala Devi was declared the 2015 AIFF Woman Footballer of the Year. The 25-year old would be presented a prize of Rs. 1 lakh besides a Trophy. "I thank the AIFF for their constant support and help. I revere the Awards lauded to me by the AIFF a lot and these are the things which matter the most to you as a Player," she told media.

Pritam Kotal was declared the '2015 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year.' AIFF also introduced a new Award — the '2015 AIFF emerging Woman Footballer of the Year' — and it was bagged by Pyari Xaxa.

Furthermore, Football Association of Odisha (FAO) bagged the '2015 AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Programme.' The '2015 AIFF Award for long time contribution to Indian Football was awarded to Coca Cola. Meanwhile, CR Srikrishna won '2015 AIFF Award for Best Referee' while the '2015 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee' was awarded to Sapam Knnedy.

Bala Devi scored 16 goals in 5 matches in the SAFF. Women's Championship in Pakistan last year to propel India to the gold medal. "Winning the first Award in 2014 was so satisfying. Retaining it was a challenge and more satisfying," she said.


Related Stories

The Northeast Today