Eight NLFT militants surrendered in Tripura

Eight NLFT militants surrendered in Tripura

AGARTALA: Eight extremists belonging to the National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) surrendered to the BSF on Sunday with foreign-made arms and ammunition near BOP number 2298/MP at Kanchanpur of North Tripura District.

The surrendered militants were identified as Halongsa Tripura, Laxmanjoy Tripura, Tarun Mohan Tripura, Mrityunjoy Tripura, Debsingh Reang, Mojoiram Reang, Kusom Tripura and Bijoy Debbarma.

Border Security Force deputy commandant Lakshya Mehta while talking to newsmen said, "Eight dreaded militants of the National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) fled their Bangladeshi hideout and crossed over to Tripura before surrendering to the BSF in the presence of Tripura Police on Sunday at a border out post in northern Tripura's Sewarampar."

The militants unloaded advanced weapons including one self-loading rifle and an AK-series rifle, six loaded magazines, three China-made grenades and a large cache of ammunition and sharp weapons.

According to a source, the whole reason for these militants to call it a day was because the militant group is running out of funds.

(TNT News)

Related Stories

The Northeast Today