Assam: BJP decides on star campaigners for state ahead of Lok Sabha Election

Assam: BJP decides on star campaigners for state ahead of Lok Sabha Election

GUWAHATI, March 24, 2019

BJP has informed that it has drawn up a list of 'star campaigners' in Assam for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.

As per the schedule drawn up by the State BJP as reported in the Assam Tribune, the party's national general secretary Ram Madhav and senior leader and MP Ramen Deka will participate in poll campaign at the Diphu Lok Sabha constituency on March 24.


On March 25, BJP's Assam in-charge Mahendra Singh will carry out campaign at Silchar, while senior national leader Anurag Singh Thakur and NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma will undertake electioneering at Tezpur constituency and Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in the Lakhimpur constituency. Sarma will also hold campaign meetings at Jorhat constituency on the same day.


Union minister Babul Supriyo will conduct party meetings at Karimganj constituency on March 26, while senior leader from West Bengal Rupa Ganguly and State BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass will campaign at Nagaon constituency. Besides, Union minister Kiren Rijiju is going to carry out campaigning for the party at Lakhimpur constituency and Sonowal in Guwahati on the same day.

The BJP had announced yesterday that Prime Minister Modi will address public rallies at Gohpur and Moran on March 30.

Sources in the State BJP said that party's national president Amit Shah is also likely to address a series of rallies at various places across Assam in the coming days. Details in this regard are being worked out, they added.

In addition, a number of joint rallies by the BJP, the AGP and the BPF, are also planned at various places in the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections.

With The Assam Tribune inputs

Related Stories

The Northeast Today